Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Day #18: What are Your 5 Greatest Accomplishments?

Hmm, my five greatest accomplishments?  This is a toughy.  Especially since I was going to attempt to be funny but instead I’ll be serious.  Maybe.

1) My writing.  My blog is obviously a little different than my serious writings.  I was first published when I was 6 or 7.  I’ve been published several times since then.  I was a feature in a major publication 10 or 12 years ago.  A lot of my writings when I was younger came from a darker place….I found strength in that.  Today, and usually with my blog, I try to focus more on the humorous.  Last night, in fact, I had a friend tell me I should quit my job and focus on writing full time.  I was telling a story, being funny, being political and being pissed off.  I like to keep people laughing and she said that I should just give up on the real world thing and just blog or write a book or for a magazine full time.  This is not the first time I’ve heard this….maybe it’s a sign that I need to rethink my career path.

2) My fit life.  Last year I shared a piece on my eating disorders when I was in high school.  Back then I never thought that I would fall in love with fitness.  But it has become my obsession passion and I have goals of becoming certified as a fitness instructor.  Unfortunately, the course is only offered at a certain time of year and I, of course, just missed it this year.  The goal is still there, the passion is still there.  Eventually, I will get there.

3) My grammatically correctness (no, I did not just make that word up).  I am often referred to as the “Grammar Nazi” and I am completely okay with that.  I understand that many of my friends/co-workers/family find it extremely irritating when I correct their or others’ grammar.  Again, I am okay with that.  You will learn from me.  Believe me….it’s a good thing.

4) My education and career.  I am proud of the education I got.  I am proud of the job I have.  I am proud of where I am in life.  And just to throw it out there…I can still cartwheel like nobody’s business!

5) The opportunity I had last year.  This one is on the down-lo, but certain people will know what I’m talking about last year.  Last year I had THE GRANDEST OPPORTUNITY to tell someone what I thought of him.  It was pure bliss.  Sometimes things happen in life and we feel only the negative effect(s) of them.  Well, this particular moment I took the bull by the horns and went on a very long rant to a specific person who was mean, a bully, an abuser, an abuser of power, a complete jackass, etc.  No one had ever put this dude in his place and I was ecstatic that I was (likely) the first to do so.  I’m not one for being submissive, but certainly in certain situations you sometimes have to bite your tongue.  This is one time that I did NOT bite my tongue.  Other people had kept quiet (for years) on things happening that shouldn’t have happened and I, to my knowledge, am the only person to ever take the stand.  It felt good.  I do not regret it.  And once again, for the record bud, my name is spelled with a “y”!!

Yarmouth

Cheers!

 

 

2 responses

  1. so you have been writing for a long time? I was put off on writing from high school. In English class I had to finsih a Sci Fi story and my teacher left the note, ‘where have you been all my life’. Yes, it was a male teacher. it wasn’t until my late 20’s I thought people might enjoy reading my stuff as a buddy told me he always enjoyed reading my cards when I moved away (there was no Internet back then). So then I started writing about a middle aged bar drunk and used our funny stories from going out to fill the pages. I enjoy your writing so keep it up! You should be proud!

    October 7, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    • Writing has always been in me. I can’t imagine my life if I didn’t have this outlet.

      October 7, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Leave a Reply

