Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

PumpkinHead

When I was in middle school I went out trick-or-treating with my friend Kim, her dad and brother and another dad and his kids.  It was the very first time I had gone out for Halloween without my mom or dad and without my brother.  But, I was excited to be going out with my friend and I think she was happy to have another girl in their group of mostly boys.  So, it was really a win-win for both of us.  Kim’s dad and his friend stood at the end of each driveway as we kids made our way to and from each candy-giving door.

I was a little nervous because I was trick-or-treating in a different neighborhood.  We were having a great time and everything was going great when we got to this one house.  It was brightly lit and decorated festively for Halloween, including the pumpkin man sitting in an old lawn chair on the walkway to the door.  The pumpkin man was a little haggard looking and slumped over to one side in the chair but it was a nice touch.

After collecting my loot from the front door I started my way back to the dads – down the little brick walkway toward the driveway.  I noticed that Kim’s dad was trying to hold back laughter.  Suddenly, I felt very uneasy.  I felt as if someone was following me so I started to run.  I ran onto the driveway and as I looked back the pumpkin man from the chair beside the door was following me.

No...this isn't scary at all...

No…this isn’t scary at all…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I screamed, swung my loot bag at him and ran to the dads for safety…who, by now, were doubled over with laughter.  Turns out, one of the high school boys thought it’d be fun to put a pumpkin on his head and sit there all night scaring kids.  Jackass!!

In my old age I realize that that was good clean fun.  However, I don’t know if I’m ready to laugh at it yet.  That was my last year trick-or-treating.

Cheers.

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. That would be scarey Sandy! The worse thing that happened to me was one year I got hit inthe head with a stone someone through at us. Luckily I was wearing a football outfit and helmet. Come on with us next week, we’ll look out for each other and our neighborhood is pretty safe.

    October 23, 2013 at 4:43 pm

    • Ouch…that doesn’t sound good. I fell out of the car once. We were leaving my grandparents’ house and I guess my seatbelt didn’t click in over my costume properly and I fell out. Whoops.

      October 23, 2013 at 4:56 pm

      • You are lucky to have survived your youth youg lady :p

        October 23, 2013 at 5:08 pm

  2. Oh the stories I could tell you…..like the time my brother put me in the deep freeze……

    October 23, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

