Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Happy Halloween 2013

It’s October 31st.  Hooray!  I.Love.Halloween.

Almost two months ago Blair and I were invited to a Halloween party/dance for this past weekend.  Blair and I have never done anything like that together and I have always wanted to do a couple’s costume. And since my cousin’s band was playing at this shindig I begged talked Blair into attending.  I had originally wanted to go as Bonnie and Clyde but that idea is a bit overdone (it’s all your fault, Brenda and Dylan!!) so I had to come up with exciting original costumes.  Original would be key.  I thought about us going as Dog the Bounty Hunter and his wife Beth – but man, those two crazy kids are in a whole other realm and Sandy just didn’t have time to find a sweet mullet wig or inflatable boobs.

Dog

So I continued on with searching my brain and finally came up with a great costume.  I kept it completely secret – only telling my mom (and making her SWEAR to not tell anyone) because I needed her help with a few things.  I could not wait for party night.  AND…….

WE WON!

First place.

2

Can you guess what we are?

3

We’re Silent Film Stars.

4

Original….and fun.  And cheap.  Blair paid $2 for that hat (which, by the way, I had to split in the back and add a piece in because his damn head is so big).  The pants and white shirt he borrowed from my dad, the jacket, tie and shoes are his.  He had a few days’ worth of stubble – which he then shaved down and I colored it in black (along with his eyebrows) to resemble Charlie Chaplin.  I also doused our faces and necks with white makeup and did our cheeks with some black makeup for definition (because, y’know, black and white film….).  My dress I bought second hand for $5.  The stole thingy with the antique brooch is my mom’s.  She made my headpiece and matching flower for my dress (which looks pretty sad in the photo).  I bought the gloves at the Dollar store and my rings are vintage that my cousin gifted me for my birthday a few years ago.  My purse is vintage.  It was my grandmother’s and is hand-beaded and from the 40’s I believe.  The rest of the jewelry (pearls and earrings are mine).  I was going to buy chalkboards at the Dollar store but I, instead, downloaded a template and glued one on each side of a piece of cardboard and wrote on them with a white colored pencil.

The first photo I took to send to my mom while Blair was dragging ass in getting ready.

The first photo I took to send to my mom while Blair was dragging ass in getting ready.

Although Blair and I both had headaches, we had a great time.  The bands were great and I’m very impressed with my cousin Scott (from Eight Nickels) who rocked the night (although his costume freaked me out); and my cousin-in-law (from my last post about the Bar Nazis) is a hoot and she’s decided we should be new BFFs.  I am so down with that.  Especially if she’s the type of gal who can smuggle pie and veggie trays into the movies.

And now it’s Halloween, which means it’s a whole other night to dress up.  And since I’m on my own tonight I’m hoping to dress up as something scarrryyyy.  I have been planning to costume myself as La Llarona (the Weeping Woman).

La Llarona (Courtesy of Grimm on NBC)

La Llarona
(Courtesy of Grimm on NBC)

She is a scarily bad mamma-jamma and I really want to scare the shizz outta people.  (Note: Read La Llarona’s story here.)  But we’ll see what happens.  More than likely, I’ll end up seeing my nephews’ costumes, going to the gym and then vegging on my couch watching Hocus Pocus.

Have a safe and spooky Halloween.

~Cheers

 

 

 

 

2 responses

  1. I just saw this. Congats to both of you! You guys look great. That was really, really clever. I can never come up with anything that good.

    November 5, 2013 at 11:25 pm

    • Well y’know, I AM a pretty clever gal. :p
      We had fun. I was excited just to get Blair out for the evening.

      November 6, 2013 at 8:24 am

Leave a Reply

