Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

A Haunting in Nova Scotia

I really should have (wanted to) posted this in October, prior to Halloween to go along with my spooky blogs but I forgot became extremely busy.  So you’re in luck because I’m posting this now.

Years ago when I was shacked up with my ex, we moved my TV into the bedroom and put his TV in the living room because it was bigger and newer.   One night, after the TV had been in our home for a while, I woke up to noise.  I jumped out of bed and sure enough the TV was blaring out in the living room.  I woke up Butthead (yeah, I think that’s what I’ll call him) thinking maybe he had set some timer or something but he had no idea so we turned the TV off and went back to sleep.

A few days later the same thing happened.  Middle of the night, Sandy is sound asleep and *BAM* the TV is screeching out in the living room.  WTF?  Butthead and I tried to figure out if there was some sort of reverse timer on it akin to the “sleep” timer for the TV to turn on but neither of us had ever heard of that before and we couldn’t find anything with the remote or menu.  After this had been happening for several months – either with the TV turning on in the middle of the night or me coming home from work to the TV on and loud I just assumed that I was being haunted by the ghosts of TV shows past.  And although it freaked the hell out of me, I sort of just got used to it.

But one night while Butthead was away and I was alone and half asleep I heard it happen – I heard the TV start up so I jumped out of bed, ran into the living room and threw on the lights and looked on to a scene similar to this:

arrow-downarrow-downkittyOur asshole cat was jumping to the top of the TV and reclining.  And unbeknownst to us, there were ADDITIONAL ON/OFF/VOLUME buttons on the top of the TV.  We had no idea.  There were buttons in the front and we thought that was it.  So, our haunting was merely the result of a badass kitty lounging somewhere she did not belong.

It’s funny now.  Actually, it was funny then and believe me, I sure did breathe a sigh of relief knowing that I was not being haunted by shows that had been put to rest – or anyone/thing else for that matter.

Cheers.

 

 

Leave a Reply

