Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Ornaments

I have boxes upon boxes of Christmas tree ornaments.  But I’ve very particular and diligent in the decorations I hang.  Of course I have a color theme, and I have to be careful to hang only certain decorations on the bottom branches so that big fat white cat doesn’t have too much fun with them (to be honest, so far he’s only slept underneath the tree and played with the ribbon on the bottle of wine – it’s my shower curtain that takes the abuse).  The decorations that I do hang are displayed with love.  Here are a few:

Butterfly

 

^Anyone who knows me knows that butterflies are sorta my thing.  This is just one of many, many butterflies that hang on my tree, including a bunch of handmade butterflies that my mom made me a few years back.  They are beautiful and are kept in a special box (that I annually forget where I’ve left it and then have to dig).

Star^Obvs I’d have a star on my tree to represent the Star of Bethlehem (also called the Christmas Star – duh!!).  My Blackberry’s camera sucks but this is a beautiful bright gold star AND it glitters.  Score.

Icicle

 

^There are a few of these icicles.  They’re silver and glittery and were expensive so they’re not permitted near the bottom branches.

Turtle Dove

 

^”…Three french hens, two TURTLE DOVES….la la la, la la….”  (I love this turtle dove. It’s antiquey looking and elegant-ish.)

Pickle

^This is the Christmas Pickle.  It’s sort of a thing on my mom’s side of the family.  A bunch of us got these ornaments as gifts.  I’m not exactly sure of the story or the origin of the Christmas Pickle in my family but I promise, it’s a thing.

Cheers!

 

 

7 responses

  1. Tanya

    Hey Sandy… We have a Christmas Pickle too… We always hide it somewhere on the tree and whoever finds the pickle gets an extra little gift… The competition is not that fierce when you only have one kid! haha

    Here is the Christmas Pickle Poem:

    To start a tradition that will surely last,

    Here’s the story about the pickle of glass.

    The night before Christmas, it’s hung on the tree

    While everyone’s sleeping, it’s done secretly.

    And on Christmas morning, when you arise,

    The first one to find it will get a surprise!

    A family tradition for all to share,

    You’ll look for the pickle year after year.

    December 16, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    • Doesn’t sound like much of a competition – but then again, you do live with Scott, so ya never know what can happen.

      So funny about the Christmas pickle and the new traditions. I’ll have to ask my mom about its origins in our family.

      As for the poem – it’s cute. I think I kept the poem tethered to the pickle so they’re both hanging from my tree. 🙂

      December 17, 2013 at 8:44 am

  2. Amy Pothier

    Ok I’m your Mom, right? As in my Mom’s family? I’ve never heard tell if a Christmas Pickle! You must have gotten the idea from somewhere else.

    December 17, 2013 at 11:43 am

    • I have the pickle on my tree and you gave it to me a few years ago.

      December 17, 2013 at 11:45 am

  3. Amy Pothier

    By the way, I have the Christmas Spider. And come to think of it , I don’t remember seeing it this year. I’m sure you have at least one spider on your tree .
    The legend of the Christmas Spider is this. One Christmas Eve after the tree was decorated and everyone went to bed, the spider came down from the ceiling to see the beautiful sight. As he sat there admiring the tree , he spun a web all over the branches. In the morning the family arose to find their tree covered with beautiful sparkling silver , and that is why we have icicles on the Christmas tree.
    But no pickles!

    December 17, 2013 at 11:50 am

    • I do not ever want a Christmas (or any other type of) spider, thank you. Unless you prefer to see Christmas Snakes (therefore garland) on your tree.
      And no, I don’t have any spiders on my tree.

      December 17, 2013 at 11:52 am

  4. Amy Pothier

    If you ever even consider that, I will disown you!
    And take back all your Christmas presents!

    December 18, 2013 at 12:24 am

Leave a Reply

