Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Christmas Eve

(not Xmas eve, as the Challenge suggests.  Grrrr.  Blasphemy.)

Tonight is Christmas Eve, y’all.  It’s hard to believe we’ve arrived to December 24th already.

And the last week has been a whirlwind of weather.  We had snow for a week straight….the kids around here had two snow days in their last week of school (lucky ducks!), then we got hit with a massive ice/freezing rain storm.  And yesterday it snowed, then it turned to freezing rain, then rain then back to snow.   Power outages all across the county – if not the province.  (Picture it…December 23rd traffic and shopping madness….add in no power – no traffic lights, etc. CRAY-ZEE!!  Oh, an when you’re in a large department store and the power goes off, expect to be herded to the front of the store like cattle.)  Luckily, I didn’t lose power.  Winston and I stayed nice and warm and watched Christmas movies last night.  Poor guy had his booster yesterday and projectile vomited everywhere at least five times (well, five spots of kitty barf is what I’ve found so far) so he was happy to chill last night.

Anyway, tonight’s festivities are on….My dad is heading to pick up my granddad early this afternoon and he’s dropping me at Blair’s.  I’ll help him wrap and get things in order then we’ll head back to my parents’ house for our family’s traditional Christmas Eve dinner of Rappie Pie.

My dad's Rappie Pie

My dad’s Rappie Pie

Which I am super excited about.  

My nephews will be playing and so wound up that they won’t want to eat.  

Boy #2 looking to see what trouble he can get into

Boy #2 looking to see what trouble he can get into

After dinner and a rest we’ll either hang out or go visit – or have visitors.  If we entertain we’ll be in the family room in front of the main Christmas tree (because my mom’s a nut and has a tree in pretty much every room).

Mom's tree

Eventually, I’ll want my photo taken because, well, I clean up nicely.

Christmas eve 2011

Christmas eve 2011

And we’ll remember those we love who are no longer with us.

 

RIP Aunt Linda *And my wonderful, incredible grandparents*

RIP Aunt Linda
*And my wonderful, incredible grandparents*

Usually, my mom and I (at least) go to church but last year our church’s Christmas Eve service was less focused on Christmas and Jesus and the celebration of his birth and more focused on other, more selfish things – not cool, church, NOT COOL.  So, I doubt my mom and I will be heading there this year.  We can certainly Praise Jesus elsewhere.

After a possible glass of wine and maybe a sweet treat, this girl will be zonked and ready to hit the sack.  And soon enough it will be Christmas morning.  🙂

Cheers.

2 responses

  1. What is Rappie Pie?

    January 2, 2014 at 12:02 pm

    • It is the most delicious thing I’ve ever tasted in my life. It is an Acadian tradition. It’s hard to explain but here’s a couple links:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rappie_pie

      http://www.scotiapages.com/article/acadian-rappie-pie.html
      “Traditionally, you would start with a bucket of potatoes and grate them (using the small holes on a grater), then the grated potato would be wrung out in a cloth bag (or cheesecloth) to remove liquid, leaving only the pulp. Today, companies do this commercially and the pulp can be bought in local grocery stores. One local company in Pubnico, uses the spin cycle on washing machines to extract the liquid. The next step is to cook a chicken in a big pot of water. Making the broth is important, add onions, salt and pepper, add a couple of chicken cubes. When the chicken is cooked, de-bone it and break up into small chunks. Strain the liquid and bring back to a boil. In a large bowl, slowly mix the hot broth into the potato pulp (five pounds of potato pulp will require about 20 cups of broth). Adjust salt and pepper. In a large greased pan (18x12x3 inches) pour half of the potato mixture, then arrange the cooked chicken on top along with three or four chopped onions. Cover with the remaining potato mixture. Dot the top with small chunks of salted pork fat, or dabs of butter. Then cook in a 400-degree oven for three hours. The top should brown up and get nice and crispy.”

      It sounds weird but it’s quite good. I’m not sure about purchasing in the US but we’re able to frozen ones in grocery stores here (although they’re not even close to being as good as a family made one).

      January 2, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Leave a Reply

