Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Living in a Christmas Card

So, it’s been snowing here in Nova Scotia for nearly 3 weeks straight.  It’s ridiculously cold – and not just to me, the girl who has her space heater on in the summer, but to everyone.  It’s -18 (and -30 with the wind chill).  And we’re under blizzard warning for tonight and tomorrow.  Ugh.  Effing Winter!  And the worst news is that we still have 3-4 months left of this.  *sad face*

And to make cold matters worse, the heating was broken in my office today and the AC stuck on.  Picture this lady not happy.  I wore my winter coat, scarf, hat and boots all day at work.  Then, after 6 hours in, we left and I went and picked up some sushi and am chillin’ (literally) before my classes tonight.  Thank goodness for my workouts this evening, I think it’s the only way I’ll heat up.

So yeah, back to the weather – snow, snow, major freezing rain/ice storm, snow, snow, more snow, more freezing rain…you getting the picture?  Here, let me show you what it looked like Christmas morning:

Ignore that thing in the middle of the window - it's a mount for the GPS

Ignore that thing in the middle of the window – it’s a mount for the GPS

We totally had to swerve left and right to avoid the trees in the road - they were completely bent over because of the weight of the ice

We totally had to swerve left and right to avoid the trees in the road – they were completely bent over because of the weight of the ice

There's a building under there.....can y'all see it?

There’s a building under there…..can y’all see it?

Ahhh....this tree was once standing upright....not so much anymore.

Ahhh….this tree was once standing upright….not so much anymore.

It’s all very pretty, but damn it’s cold!  And slick.  And slippery.  And did I mention cold???  Brr!!  Allow me to reiterate: BRRRRRR!!!!

Thank goodness for Christmas gifts of fleecy PJs and fuzzy socks.  And let me be the first to admit I AM NOT ABOVE wrapping my feet in plastic bags to ensure my socks don’t get wet in my boots.  I will take whatever measures necessary to stay warm and dry and I am on the countdown to Spring and thawing out.

Wishing you all a warm start to the New Year.

Happy 2014.

Cheers.

 

5 responses

  1. modenagirl

    Sandy, I feel for you. (Brrrrr). I remember weather like you described, except for the exceptional COLD. I used to live in Brooklyn NY, and then moved to Long Island, and it was there that we had some real “doozies” (like that word?) of storms. Right now, fortunately for me, I’m writing from Florida, where we have the best winter weather in all of North America, in my opinion. So, I really feel for you. A popular comedian used to stand in front of the beach and tell the “northerners,” “com’on down.”

    January 2, 2014 at 5:50 pm

    • Ahh..Florida…sun, beaches…mmmmm. I’m jealous. But I’m thankful that you can understand what I’m going through here…right now. Brrr doesn’t even come close. 😉

      January 2, 2014 at 5:52 pm

      • modenagirl

        Yes indeed. Think positive thoughts. Perhaps one day, you can post the same sort of post that I have, above.

        January 2, 2014 at 6:08 pm

  2. OK girl Google the zip code 29401 and see what the weather is there..i’m just sayin’ ….and maybe Google Earth it…We don’t get snow….although our trees don’t look as pretty either. Stay warm up there Ms. Clause

    January 2, 2014 at 10:03 pm

    • Yeah, I have my fingers in my ears and am singing “la LA la la LA LA LAAAA!!”

      January 2, 2014 at 10:07 pm

Leave a Reply

