Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

I REMEMBERED!!!!

Thank you to everyone who posted here or private messaged me trying to help me locate the name of the singer from my last post. Saturday morning I awoke to bazillion messages with different names, websites and potential artists – all of which were wrong but I appreciate the effort, regardless.

I spent another good portion of Saturday morning chatting with Jesse hoping she would remember. Jesse has the worst memory of anyone I know and our conversation went something like this:
Me: “Remember back in the day when I had that mixed tape with the Mandy Moore song I used to belt out when we’d go on our road trips?”
Jesse: “Yes. Vaguely.”
Me: “Well the song was on that tape. We both liked it. The guy was cute.”
Jesse: “OKay.”
Me: “I’m leaning more to his name being Craig rather than David.”
Jesse: “And it’s not Craig David?”
Me: “Nope. It might not be Craig.”
Jesse: “You suck!”

The more I thought about it the more I leaned toward his name being Craig. And I was convinced he was Canadian and I was certain this damn song had been in the top 30 – although searching years of archives from Much Music and the like turned.up.nothing!

Then last night I finally got around to searching “Canadian Singer Craig” and BAM! There he was.

Craig Smart. (Although this video credits also his old group D-Cru – I don’t recollect that – but at least I had his name.) AND this video was totally a top 10 hit back in the day. He’s not as cute as I remember but, aside from that ridiculous “mustache” he’s pretty adorable (I think he reminded me of my ex boyfriend back then, maybe that was part of the appeal.); and his eyes are piercingly blue. And the song is pretty.

So, there you go….my question has been answered. Thank you all for your assistance. And if you want a really good chuckle check out the comments underneath the video.

~Cheers.

3 responses

  1. Wow, Sandy. You went through lots of trouble for this. The song isn’t bad, but the video leaves some things to be desired (or left out). I looked at the comments. A few chuckles – you were right about that – some from 3,4,5 years ago. Hmmm.

    June 23, 2014 at 10:23 pm

    • The song has been on my mind (off and on) for years now and I just never got around to looking it up (I usually just forgot by the time I’d reached a computer) so yeah, it became a weekend mission.

      The song itself is pretty but the video – Oy! I don’t know if it was a lack of funds or if they’d lost a bet but it’s horrible. And it was the summer of 2000 when a lot of videos were shit. Haha.

      June 24, 2014 at 9:22 am

      • Well, your search is over, and now you can concentrate on your next post with a clear mind (?) ! Have a great week – what’s left. 🙂

        June 24, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Leave a Reply

