Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

The Little Things That Break Your Heart

When I was reeaaally little my mom bought me The Rainbow Connection record from The Muppet Movie.

Remember these?  *sigh*

Remember these? *sigh*

I loved the song so much and I listened to that record all the time. The opposite side of the little 45 LP was Rowlf the Dog (plinking away on his piano) and Kermit belting out “I Hope Something Better Comes Along” – which, honestly, didn’t get as much play as The Rainbow Connection. But, I loved the record in its entirety.

Then one day the worst thing happened. My brother, for whatever reason he had, threw the record (I don’t remember if he was using it as a Frisbee or if he was tossing it to someone)…I watched it fly across the living room and I prepared myself for the inevitable….but the record landing safely. *Whew* ………………………………………………………………………………………

Then…..my Uncle Brian – who happened to be visiting – rocked in the rocking chair he was sitting in – and which the record had landed underneath of….cracking it right in half.

brokenrecord

……and breaking my wee little heart at the same time. I’m pretty sure I cried. Because I cried about everything back then (I still cry about everything).

Thankfully for iTunes and YouTube I’ve been able to reintroduce The Rainbow Connection into my life over the years but I will never forget the day the music died…..for me.

Cheers!

2 responses

  1. Amy Pothier

    I don’t remember this at all, but understand your brother has a different version. Will have to hear that. But….
    When I was six I had a collection of records. Not sure what all they were but one was the song from the Rocky and Bullwinkle cartoons. Well, when I was six I was in the Children’s Hospital in Halifax for a month. My Mom put the records away so the other kids wouldn’t scratch them. Unfortunately though, when I got home from hospital, Mom couldn’t remember where she hid the records. She found them a few months later, when she turned the hotplate on. If you don’t know, a hotplate is a cook top. Can you guess what happened to my records. It’s been many, many, many years but it still makes me sad.

    June 26, 2014 at 6:09 pm

    • I remember it – happened at the old house and Brian was in the rocker in front of the big window. Terry won’t remember.
      That was and wasn’t a very good hiding spot.

      June 27, 2014 at 9:05 am

Leave a Reply

