Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Happy Thanksgiving, Canada!

That’s right, it’s Thanksgiving weekend in Canada (Thanksgiving is on Monday) when we give thanks for the Harvest and other blessings of the year.

It’s a beautiful, sunny, Fall day but, unlike so many of my friends who participated in the Harvest Marathon this morning, I’ve been studying my butt off all weekend.  It sucks.

But, I do have dinner plans tonight which involve my adorable little nephews, so I will welcome that study break.

And, although I’ve been studying half the day already, I did take some time out to make some delicious pumpkin pie tarts

MiniPumpkinPies2Can you say YUM?

Actually, what I made are Paradise Pumpkin Pie tarts.  I usually make a big pie, but, y’know, studying.

These little tastes of pumpkiny goodness step away from the traditional pies and offer a little kick.  I don’t normally share the recipe but I’ll share the one I altered today so that I could spend more time on the books (and, apparently, on this blog):

Paradise Pumpkin Pie (tarts)

1 can of pumpkin pie filling

1 block of cream cheese, softened

1-2 tablespoons of vanilla

Pumpkin pie spice (optional)

Whip topping (optional)

Tart shells or pie crusts (I don’t make this crap from scratch – but if you’re up for the challenge, give’er!)

Throw the pie filling, cream cheese, vanilla, and spice in a bowl and blend it up (I used an electric beater).  Pour into tart shells or pie crusts (top with tiny dashes of the spice if desired) and bake at 350 for 20-30 minutes.  Once out of the oven and cool top with whip if desired.

Aside from it being Thanksgiving, it’s also The Walking Dead premier night. I will definitely be study-breaking for that.

via AMC

via AM

In addition, I am also really, REALLY thankful for Pumpkin Pie Pop Tarts.  I have no idea where you can buy these but I would be happy (and thankful) to accept donations.

Whaaaaaat?

Whaaaaaat?

Happy Thanksgiving.

~Cheers

4 responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Canada! Don’t eat too much… can I take the day off too? …~~ enjoy it Sandy! Yes they do look yummy!

    October 12, 2014 at 11:24 pm

    • Didn’t overly stuff myself. It helped that I had dinner elsewhere. 😀

      October 13, 2014 at 4:05 pm

  2. Hope you had a fabulous, fun Thanksgiving!! Happy Thanksgiving!! Also, I’m obsessed with The Walking Dead!! It was soooo good!! So much action!! Hope you’re having a fab day!! xoxoxo

    October 14, 2014 at 11:20 am

    • Hey Kristin….I spent the entire weekend studying (I’m still studying). My final exam for my personal trainer cert is this weekend. I’m beyond stressed.
      And OMG TWD was fantastic. I was on the edge of my seat.
      xo

      October 14, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Leave a Reply

