Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Archive for October 23, 2014

10 Days of Halloween

Normally I like to start my celebration of Halloween early but since I was busy with studying up until this past weekend, I had to put my readying-for-Halloween on hold.   But fear not! (<<- see what I did there?)  Last night I watched my first “scary” movie of the season and I’m kicking off the 10 Days of Horror Movies

First, let’s just get one thing straight!  My version of horror movies and your version of horror movies are more than likely two very different things.  If you check out my posts from Halloweens gone by (check out THIS LINK), you will note that I have watched my share of horror flicks….and some of them have ruined my life (I’m looking at YOU Stephen King’s IT!!).  But these days I spend half the time sleeping alone and I don’t need those thoughts running through my head when I close my eyes.

So, last night I settled in with “Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark” starring Katie Holmes, Bailee Madison, and Guy Pearce.
I don’t think I’d ever heard of this movie before but I happened to see it advertised last weekend so I decided last night was the night.

dont-be-afraid-of-the-dark……Annnnnndddd………….it sucked.  No really, it wasn’t very good.  The best part of this file was the acting was by little Bailee Madison (what’s up with you, Katie Holmes??).  The story-line wasn’t horrendous but there were some plot holes left wide open and unexplained and the effects were…..yikes.  I expected more from Guillermo del Toro and from Guy Pearce.

I’ll take the movie for what it was: a good try at a scare….maybe aimed at a younger audience.  There were a few (very few) spots that intrigued me but for the most part it was laughable.  To be perfectly honest, I was a little embarrassed for this movie.  One and a half thumbs down.

Stay tuned to see what’s coming up next.

Cheers.

