Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

First Christmas Movie of 2014

I’ve really been trying not to rush the season.  In fact, I’m having a difficult time that we are nearing the end of November. I mean seriously….when did that happen??

Regardless of me being lost in time, December is upon us, as is Christmas.  And it seems that Halloween was narrowly over when Christmas movies began playing on TV…..way to rush the season, folks.

Now, normally I don’t like to rush things and I’m certainly not even close to being ready for Christmas or any of the things that come with it.  But last weekend I did nestle in with a fuzzy blanket to watch my first Christmas movie of this season.

Hallmark Channel’s North Pole with Tiffani (Amber) Thiessen.  (Sorry, I know she dropped the ‘Amber’ but I she’s 90210 alum and I don’t know her by anything other than Tiffani Amber Thiessen.)

via Hallmark Channel

via Hallmark Channel

To be perfectly honest, the only reason I decided to watch this movie was because it was starring a 90210 alum and I feel like I’m part of the Peach Pit/West Beverly gang so I needed to support my friend.

This was a cute little movie.  Nothing spectacular.  Very cliche.  But cute.  Watch the trailer:

I had a hard time believing Tiffani as the motherly type because I really can only think of her as Valerie Malone….but she was decent in this movie.  She shared a lot of characteristics with Valerie (independent, {semi} sassy, smart) but I wasn’t fully able to differentiate from the two people characters.  Maybe I’m stuck in wanting 90210 to still be a number one show….and not just in my book.

The North Pole in this film was interesting.

via Hallmark Channel

via Hallmark Channel

It wasn’t the quintessential, quaint little place we’re lead to believe it is in other movies.  In North Pole it was a huge, sparkling city….and y’all know how I feel about shit that sparkles.  Yay!  I really want to go to this North Pole.

via Hallmark Channel

via Hallmark Channel

My biggest annoyance with the movie was Bailee Madison’s over-acting.  Which is funny because if you remember my recent post from Halloween I said the best part of the shitty movie I watched was her acting abilities.  Now she’s gone too far..pull it back, Bailee….pull it back.

But like I said, it was a cute little starter movie for the holidays.  I would recommend watching it….as long as you’re not looking for award-worthy stuff.  This is Christmas fluff.  🙂

Enjoy.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

