Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Halloween Movie Countdown – Part 1

As always, I’m counting down to Halloween with some horror/scary movies.  Time is tight these days, so I haven’t been watching much TV, but I’ve managed, so far, to get in a few movies here and there.

HOUSE ON HAUNTED HILL (1959)

HAUNT
Back in the day, I’m sure this movie was a masterpiece, and ahead of its time. In fact, when reading the trivia on IMDB, it says that when this movie was originally in theaters, gimmicks were added such as a lighted plastic skeleton on a wire appeared from a black box next to the screen to swoop over the heads of the audience.  Imagine that back in ’59.

This movie had a good creep factor, thanks mostly to Vincent Price, but at first I thought it was very cheesy.  Then at one point, I got the wits scared out of me.  And then maybe again. It wasn’t a total horror movie (fine by me), but, again, I’m sure back in the 50’s/60’s it was completely spooky.

Haunted Hill 2

Let’s be honest, that thing is scary, and I don’t like that it keeps looking at me.  STOP LOOKING AT ME!!!!

What really ruined it for me though was the character of Nora.  Ugh!  She was a constant whiner and screamer and I thoroughly wanted to punch her in the throat to shut her up. I’d hoped that at some point she’d bite it….but I’ll not spoil that for you.

All in all, this movie was a good one to watch to kick off Halloween season.

~Cheers

One response

  1. The sci Fi Network has a lot of scarey B rated movies on right now. I love house on haunted hill…

    October 19, 2017 at 11:42 am

Leave a comment