Welcome to SANDYLAND!!

Yule Blog – Winery Light Tour

It’s a little after 7 Christmas Eve morning and I’ve gotten my wish of sipping liquid gold in front of my glowing Christmas tree. There’s a Christmas movie playing in the background, I’m not really paying attention to it. We were fortunate enough to not lose power. But I’m certain enough of the province is scrambling without lights and heat and trying to figure out what they’ll now do for Christmas dinner. I’m hoping the damage is minimal.

Earlier this week I had a mini adventure with Ames. Benjamin Bridge, a local winery, has had a beautiful light display for the month. It’s free. You can stop inside the winery and grab yourself a glass of wine (the Riesling is delish!) or hot chocolate or cider, and then tour the grounds. There are outside firepits set upon cobblestone ground, dining tables outside directly underneath blazing heaters, or you can roam inside to tour the winery, the shop, or to sit and sip. Bring your own snacks and delight in the atmosphere.

Amy and I had a fun little tour and I’m so glad we went. The next day, a group of work friends were planning to go. I was still on the fence about going because, well, I’d just been there the night before. But I had complete FOMO. So I talked another Fencer into going. We made a pinky promise to leave by a certain time. And we had a fantastic time. With no FOMO.

My heart needed the uplifting. It was a fun few nights. And my friends are pretty fantastic. We indulged in each other’s company, we laughed, we sipped, we gobbled up snacks, and we toasted to each other. Clink. Cheers.

Cheers

Leave a comment